Community Action Teams

  • WHO WE ARE: COMMUNITY ACTION TEAMS

OYU Community Action Teams (CATs) are 17 local coalitions of young leaders and youth-serving organizations that uplift their voices in the political process and mobilize locally to create community improvement projects of their own design. They are each led by a highly respected local anchor organization selected by OYU staff in consultation with local community leaders.

Atlanta OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: United Way of Greater Atlanta
Staff Coordinator: Michele Jacobs
Join this CAT: mjacobs@unitedwayatlanta.org

Boston OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Teen Empowerment
Staff Coordinator: Jaquell Sneed
Join this CAT: Jaquell@teenempowerment.org

Chicago OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Alternative Schools Network
Coordinator: Corey Reynolds
Join this CAT: quitplayinaround@yahoo.com

Columbus OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Think Make Live Youth
Coordinator: Terry Green
Join this CAT: mrgreen@thinkmakelive.org

Denver OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Denver Opportunity Youth Initiative
Coordinator: Lorena Zimmer 
Join this CAT: lorena.zimmer@denverchamber.org

Greenville OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Mississippi Action for Community Education
Coordinator: Ashley Richardson
Join this CAT: riches4ak@yahoo.com

Los Angeles OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Coalition for Responsible Community Development
Coordinator: Luis Bautista-Morales
Join this CAT: lbautista-morales@coalitionrcd.org

Milwaukee OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Urban Underground
Coordinator: Sharlen Moore
Join this CAT: smoore@urbanunderground.org

NOLA-logo

New Orleans OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organizations: EMPLOY, Cowen Institute
Coordinator: In Transition

New York City OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Phipps Neighborhoods
Coordinator: Willie Thomas
Join this CAT:  WThomas@phippsny.org

Oakland OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Urban Strategies Council
Coordinator: Breeanna Decker
PHILLY LOGO

Philadelphia OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Rising Sons
Coordinator: Alex Peay
Join this CAT: alpeay@risingsons.org

Pima County OYU Community Action Team

Coordinator: Ashley Janicki

Phoenix OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Opportunities for Youth – ASU
Coordinators: Felix Moran
Join this CAT: Felix.Moran@asu.edu

Sacramento OYU Community Action Team

Coordinator: Erica Amaya
Join this CAT: erica@aesimpact.org

San Francisco OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Bay Area Community Resources
Coordinator: Ruth Barajas
Join this CAT: rbarajas@bacr.org

Seattle OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: SOAR
Coordinator: Makayla Wright
© 2018 Opportunity Youth United