Community Action Teams

  • WHO WE ARE: COMMUNITY ACTION TEAMS

OYU Community Action Teams (CATs) are local coalitions of young leaders and youth-serving organizations that uplift their voices in the political process and mobilize locally to create community improvement projects of their own design. They are each led by a highly respected local anchor organization selected by OYU staff in consultation with local community leaders.

Atlanta OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: United Way of Greater Atlanta
Staff Coordinator: Michele Jacobs
Join this CAT: mjacobs@unitedwayatlanta.org

Boston OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Teen Empowerment
Staff Coordinator: Jaquell Sneed
Join this CAT: Jaquell@teenempowerment.org

Chicago OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Alternative Schools Network
Coordinator: Martrice Manuel
Join this CAT: martricem51@gmail.com

Columbus OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Think Make Live Youth
Coordinator: Terry Green
Join this CAT: mrgreen@thinkmakelive.org

Denver OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Denver Opportunity Youth Initiative
Coordinator: Israel Juarez
Join this CAT: israel.juarez@denverchamber.org

Greenville OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Mississippi Action for Community Education
Coordinator: Mable Starks
Join this CAT: mstarks@deltamace.org

Los Angeles OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Coalition for Responsible Community Development
Coordinator: Frank Alvarez
Join this CAT: lbautista-morales@coalitionrcd.org (Luis Bautista)

Milwaukee OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Urban Underground
Coordinator: Sharlen Moore
Join this CAT: smoore@urbanunderground.org

NOLA-logo

New Orleans OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organizations: EMPLOY, Cowen Institute
Coordinator: Nicole Jolly
Join this CAT: rdalton2@tulane.edu (Ryan Dalton)

New York City OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Phipps Neighborhoods
Coordinator: Jordan Barton
Join this CAT: JBarton@phippsny.org 

Oakland OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Urban Strategies Council
Coordinator: Breeanna Decker
PHILLY LOGO

Philadelphia OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Rising Sons
Coordinator: Mubarack Lawrence

Pima County OYU Community Action Team

Coordinator: Ashley Janicki

Phoenix OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Arizona State University
Coordinators: James Hoyt
Join this CAT: Felix.Moran@asu.edu (Felix Moran)

Sacramento OYU Community Action Team

Coordinator: Taylor Buck
Join this CAT: taylorb@aesimpact.org

San Francisco OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: Bay Area Community Resources
Coordinator: Ruth Barajas
Join this CAT: rbarajas@bacr.org

Seattle OYU Community Action Team

Anchor Organization: SOAR
Coordinator: Maykayla Wright
© 2018 Opportunity Youth United